Building a test bench for a robot gripper

So it all started with me not being able to resist buying a robotic gripper I found on dx.com.


sku_206374_1

Ok but what now? It has to be mounted somewhere. Since I don’t (yet, haha) have a humanoid robot of my own I thought I will mount it on a plate of some kind and then do some “pick and place” with it.

First of all, it’d be nice to give it at least one more degree of freedom, so that the gripper can turn around as well as lift up objects after grabbing them. I had some servos lying around as well as some mount brackets for servos so I modified the gripper a bit and added an extra joint.

sku_193069_1

SAM_0846

I had to change the first bracket of the gripper so because the original one fits a medium size servo and I had a normal one.

SAM_0847

SAM_0849

Now for the bench. It starts with a plank of wood which I cut out from a bigger piece I found on the street.

SAM_0022

Some plastic parts + glue always helps…

SAM_0851

I sanded it, cut a hole in the middle and attached some legs to it to find out that I probably created a nice breadboard 🙂

SAM_0024

SAM_0853

SAM_0854

 

Upcoming: attaching an Arduino or a BeagleBone and drive it!

 

References:

http://dx.com/p/dagu-va2-aluminum-alloy-robot-arm-clamp-w-two-metal-gear-motors-for-arduino-silver-white-black-206374

http://dx.com/p/2-metal-u-holders-2-round-servo-mount-brackets-w-screws-for-r-c-helicopter-silver-193069

Leave a Reply

