Audiobook: Start with why – Simon Sinek

Since I spend 2x30minutes on a daily basis walking to work, I get to spend some time with myself and listening to music all this time daily just didn’t cut it. Audiobook are great sources of entertainment regardless of what type of books you consume, the format puts books into a slightly different context which I find interesting and also pretty convenient. So for this reason I will be doing some audiobook recommendations from now.

The platform I use is Audible on my android phone. In case you’d like to try it out, there is a free audiobook on signup if you support my favourite programming podcast, Programming Throwdown: http://www.audibletrial.com/programmingthrowdown

And now for the book…

start-with-why

There is a great TED talk on this topic by the author: http://www.ted.com/talks/simon_sinek_how_great_leaders_inspire_action?language=en

I wouldn’t wish to waste anyone’s time to write down the same thing all over again, so here I present you with this beautifully drawn figure of what the book is all about (also represented in the TED talk).

9509142418_9992017408_b

Given the nature of the subject there are lots of references to Apple being one of the most visible companies exercising the ideas described in the book.

All in all, I enjoyed the book a lot. Check out the TED talk first to see whether you are into this topic, and if yes, I highly recommend it. On top of the contents of the book the audiobook benefits from the great narration of Sinek too.

Leave a Reply

